Washington Rental Agreements
No no. Rent control is illegal in Washington State, as reported in RCW 35.21.830. However, Seattle and Bellingham tenants are entitled to 60 days` notice before rent increases of 10% or more over a 12-month period (SMC 7.24.030, BMC 6.12). Vancouver tenants are entitled to 45 days before rent increases of 10% or more over a 12-month period (VMC 8.46.020). Tenants residing outside Seattle, Bellingham and Vancouver are entitled to written notice of a 30-day rent increase before the tenancy period expires. Moreover, the increase in rents cannot be discriminatory or retaliatory. An owner who does not have his new address should send this message to the rental address so that the mail can forward it. Depends on what`s in the lease. It is not uncommon for termination fees to be included in leases. RCW 59.18.310, however, allows the landlord to mitigate the damage sustained when the tenant has broken his tenancy agreement. You can continue to charge the tenant`s rent until the apartment is re-rented, as described above, or you may decide to deduct the lost rent from the tenant`s deposit. The law does not allow landlords to charge tenants penalties that go beyond reducing the damage incurred for rent losses due to a tenant`s rent collapse. 1) Monthly leases do not contain specific deadlines.
The lease agreement is maintained until either party issues 20 days` notice of written termination before the rent expires. (Seattle tenants have imposed just cause eviction protection, the landlord in some cases requires more termination and limits terminations of leases to 18 “Just Cause” reasons.) Monthly leases can be entered into verbally or in writing. Verbal rentals are legal in Washington State and are considered monthly leases. If your landlord takes a down payment or non-refundable fee from you, the rental agreement must be written and indicate the conditions under which your money is refunded. Replace a lock or give a new key, at your own expense, if you request it after receiving a court order granting you possession of a rental unit and excluding a former tenant. Example: after receiving an injunction against an abusive ex-spouse or spouse. RCW 59.18.585 Damage includes all lost rents and advertising costs of the relocation unit. If your landlord tries to charge you more than his actual damages, or continue to rent you in addition to the deposit or charge a termination fee, you could argue that the owner is trying to punish you. A tenancy agreement of one month to one month may be renewed each month until the landlord or tenant issues a written notice on the termination of the term. If the landlord wants to increase the rent, he must give 30 days` notice before the rent increases.
Owner-tenant law requires tenants to comply with all the reasonable restrictions and rules set out in a tenancy agreement. If the rule is unreasonable, the tenant may not be obliged to abide by it – but the law does not define what is a reasonable rule. It is deliberately left away, as there may be many different types of rules in a rental agreement. Let the landlord enter the rent without informing you properly beforehand. For more information on your right to privacy, you can find below – RCW 59.18.230 (1) Q: Am I still under the Residential Tenants Act when I don`t have a written rental contract? Monthly leases can be entered into verbally or in writing. Verbal rentals are legal in Washington State and are considered monthly leases. If your landlord takes a down payment or non-refundable fee from you, the rental agreement must be written and indicate the conditions under which your money is refunded.